GREENWICH, Conn. -- State Sen. L. Scott Frantz and Roseann Benedict, president of the Riverside Association, recently accepted a plaque on the Riverside Avenue Bridge.
The plaque recognizes the bridge's architectural and historical importance, according to a press release.
The bridge was built in 1871, moved to Greenwich in 1894 and rehabilitated (while maintaining its unique appearance) in 1989, according to a press release.
It originally was part of a longer railroad span that crossed the Housatonic River between Stratford and Milford. Also listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it is the only remaining cast-iron bridge in Connecticut.
The Greenwich Historical Society's Landmark Recognition Program has recognized and documented nearly 300 Greenwich homes and sites in the last 26 years, according to a press release. The program encourages preservation and draws attention to Greenwich's rich architectural heritage, according to a press release.
Click here to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.