Deadline Approaches For FEMA Aid In Fairfield County

  • Comment
The deadline for applying for Hurricane Sandy disaster aid from FEMA is Jan. 28. Photo Credit: File

FAIRFIELD COUNTY, Conn. ‒ The deadline for Fairfield County residents to register for Hurricane Sandy disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency is Monday.

As of last month, more than 7,300 applications had been received from Fairfield County alone, FEMA reported. That represents more than half of the total 11,366 applications received from the four counties in Connecticut that were declared disaster zones by the federal government.

Federal assistance can include money for rental assistance, essential home repairs, personal property losses and other disaster-related needs that are not covered by family or individual insurance.

Residents -- and businesses -- in Fairfield County that suffered damage as a result of Hurricane Sandy should register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or by clicking here.

FEMA no longer will accept calls 24 hours per day -- calling hours are now between 7 a.m. and 1 a.m. daily. For those with speech or hearing disabilities, the TTY number is (800) 462-7585.

Click here for applications via mobile devices. 

  • Comment


In Other News


Gov. Malloy Calls For Improvements On Metro-North Schedule


Fairfield County Republicans Introduce Alternative State Budget


Spring Temperatures Will Finally Return To Greenwich This Weekend